Sleep is sooooo hard, or rather the sleeping position to get some quality sleep is so difficult. I’m somewhere between falling asleep on my side, then waking up with a numb, tingly arm which prompts me to sit upright, and go back to sleep with it elevated. I guess that’s enough.

Watching videos on tiktok help with movement, ideas on how to sleep, move etc Cool the itch tiktok

I try to let the arm rest a bit more down my side while doing physio, so it can get used to it. Slow progress but every day is a step towards normal. And I always reward it with ice band elevation later.

Day 22 (I dated this one as it felt important) As this was My first day since surgery that I have felt like me. Hard to explain, I guess. But felt less broken today, managed to get into my yoga mat and do some hip and psoas stretches, like I was prior to surgery. Which was a huge boost mentality. With distraction comes naturally less meds,which make you feel better in itself. Though I have to try and avoid the massive payback at night.

One thing I wasn’t quite prepared for is the additional pain in the left hand, it’s a year post op, I felt super strong and ready. But it has shown that although I had been doing yoga and back to jewellery making, it still is weaker than the dominant hand, and now it’s being used more, it’s getting achy. Not a bad pain, just a reminder that some days it needs ibuprofen gel, and compression gloves at times.

The pains in the thumb this week have been burning pains in the thumb, I read it is usually the nerves waking up, so a positive sign, but I’m positive it really really hurts. So that icing, and some days more pain meds are still needed. Silver lining, only 4 weeks left in this cast now!! (Yes I’m absolutely counting down the days)

Let’s see if some healing Runes can help.

My biggest news Day 26 I had a BATH!!! Sat backwards so my right arm was on the outside of the bath, to dangle it out. Mentally it’s invigorated me, physically it was heaven. My dry skin was crying out, especially my legs.

Got the rubber ball and eggs out to give texture, resistance and exercise to the thumb and fingers. Day 26 rubber egg squeezing

Arthritis, CMC joint problems, Ehlers Danlos Syndrome, Life Update, Uncategorized

2 thoughts on “4 weeks post CMC joint replacement and MCP joint fusion

Leave a comment